Wed. Jan 26th, 2022

Russia’s Sergei Lazarev on May 10 was selected as a finalist in the 2016 Eurovision song contest, along with singers from Armenia and Azerbaijan.

The musicians selected in the semifinals will compete in the final round on May 14 in Stockholm.

Lazarev’s entry, You Are The Only One, was composed by an international team including Russian singer Filip Kirkorov and Greek composer Dimitris Kontopoulos, and is considered one of the favorites to win.

Also making the finals was Armenia’s Iveta Mukuchyan, who co-wrote her song LoveWave, along with Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Malta, and the Netherlands.

Viewers and professional juries in 21 countries selected the qualifiers from 18 countries. Musical styles in the semifinal round ranged from ballads, pop, and rock to country.

Bosnia-Herzegovina, Moldova, and Montenegro failed to reach the finals on May 10. In all, 42 countries entered this year’s contest.

Copyright (c) 2015. RFE/RL, Inc. Reprinted with the permission of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty, 1201 Connecticut Ave NW, Ste 400, Washington DC 20036.

By admin