Seminar on legal aspects of Nagorno-Karabakh conflict held in Hague

The Embassy of Azerbaijan in the Netherlands and The Hague Academy of International Law have co-organized a seminar called “Legal aspects of Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict”.

Lawyers from the UK, France, Belgium, Canada, Italy, Netherlands, Russia, Turkey, Brazil, Argentina, Peru, Cameroon, Jamaica, Senegal and Guatemala attended the seminar.

The hosts of the seminar and international law experts provided an insight into the history and legal aspects of the conflict as a result of which one fifth of Azerbaijans territory was occupied and every ninth Azerbaijani became a refugee or IDP.

The participants of the seminar were also told about Azerbaijans position on the conflict.

British lawyer Ben Hudson, Brazilian Livia Prates Thome, Canadian lawyer Theo Riviere-Cloutier, Russian specialist Olga Bondarchuk, Slovakian specialist Ivan Puskar, Belgian lawyer Alexander Mark Hauser, Italian lawyer Salvatore Custerer, Dutch specialist Jacob Van der Beeten, French lawyer Agathe Rault asked their questions on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

The speakers also drew the audiences attention to the non-constructive position of Armenia, saying it prevents the fulfilment of the OSCE Minsk Groups decisions and attempts to peacefully resolve the conflict. They said Armenia continued to ignore four resolutions of the UN Security Council on unconditional withdrawal of the Armenian military units from the occupied Azerbaijani territory.

The speakers said the Armenian aggression and atrocities were in breach of 1949 Geneva Convention as well as The Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict adopted at The Hague in 1954.

They also touched upon the economic activity and economic relations of unrecognized Nagorno-Karabakh regime on the occupied Azerbaijani territory. The speaker said all foreigners who visit the separatist regime, which was not recognized by any country, were included in the “List of persons who illegally visit the occupied territory of the Republic of Azerbaijan”.