admin April 4, 2016

Arema Cronus emerged as champion of the Bhayangkara Cup 2016 tournament after crushing Persib Bandung 2-0 in the final match of the event here on Sunday night.

By winning the game, Arema grabbed the cash prize of Rp2.5 billion offered by the organizing committee.

The two goals were scored by Raphael Maitimo at 58th minute and Sunarto at 84th minute.

In addition, Persib Bandung which was supported by thousands of the “Bobotoh” (supporters) failed its ambition to win the match.

The final game which was held at the Bung Karno main Stadium in Jakarta on Sunday, kicked off by President Joko Widodo (Jokowi).

Earlier on Sunday afternoon, Sriwijaya FC emerged as the third winner after two goals scored by Hilton Moreira and Alberto Goncalves Da Costa to Bali Uniteds wicket in final round of Bhayangkara cup 2016 tournament.

Hilton Moreira scored the goal at 38th minute, and another made by Alberto Goncalves Da Costa at 74th minute.

Sriwijaya took an initiative to launch attack on Bali Uniteds defense.

On the other, although Bali United had replaced some of its players, it still failed to score a single goal.

The Bhayangkara Cup 2016 organized by the national police offers a cash prize of Rp2.5 billion to the champion.

The tournament which took place on March 17 up to April 3, 2016, saw the participation of Arema Cronus, Bali United, Mitra Kukar, and Persib Bandung, in addition to Persija Jakarta, Persipura Jayapura, PS Polri, and PS TNI. The other clubs were Pusamania Borneo FC and Sriwijaya FC.

The tournament was divided into group A and group B.

Group A had Sriwijaya FC, Persib Bandung, PS TNI, and Pusamania Borneo, in addition to Mitra Kukar. They played at the Kapten I Wayan Dipta Gianyar in Bali.

Group B comprised Arema Cronus, PS Polri, Persija Jakarta and Bali United, in addition to Persipura. They played their matches in Si Jalak Harupat Soreang in Bandung district, West Java.

In the meantime, President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) said the government will support another soccer tournament which is expected to take place in mid April 2016.

The president when responding to a press question after watching the final match of the Bhayangkara Cup 2016 tournament here on Sunday night (April 3), stated the tournament will see the participation of 78 soccer clubs across the country.

Jokowi did not elaborate about the would be participants of the upcoming tournament.

After kicking off the final game of the Bhayangkara cup between Arema Cronus versus Persib Bandung at the Bung Karno main Stadium in Jakarta at the moment, Jokowi looked the match till completion of first half with 0-0 score.

Source: Antara news